Life is Made of the Things we Love

This morning at about nine o’clock, Garrison Keillor reminded me life is made up of little things we come to love. Whether important or trivial, these are the things that, every day, give our lives sparkle and vim. Inspired by his thoughts, I’m going to list some of the little things I’ve come to love about what Mexicans call “la vida cotidiana” (roughly translated: everyday life). Please let me know, what are some of the things that make your lives wonderful?

My partial list:

• The “shuffle” setting on my i-pod. I love the fact that, as I walk to school or drive to the suburbs, I can listen to songs selected randomly from my collection of personal favorites. There is something blissful about the transition from MoTab to Ben Folds—it always leaves me smiling.
• My mousey apartment. I live in West Philadelphia and we have had our struggles with heat, mice, and burglars. Still, there is something about this Spartan little existence I can’t help but enjoy.
• The Philadelphia Orchestra. It’s like a MasterCard commercial—student tickets: $6, listening to Beethoven’s 5th in the Verizon Concert Hall: priceless.
• Finishing tests. There is nothing better than walking home after an exam and knowing I don’t have to study really, really hard for at least another couple of weeks.
• Granola. What can I say, I love granola. And, if I buy it at Trader Joe’s, it only costs %2.69 a box (not to mention the fact that they have mango granola).
• The 39ers. I have a group of six friends who mean the world to me. We have been friends since we were about five and we are now attending business school, law school, medical school, no school, and undecided; we live in Salt Lake, Provo, Russia, Philadelphia, and the Bronx. When we get together, it’s as though we had never been apart.
• Emails from Becca.  Becca writes approximately the best e-mails ever—they always make me smile.
• Talks by Elder Maxwell. My dad and I used to wait for Elder Maxwell to speak. Sometimes, I still go back and read his best lines over and over again.
• The BYU Singers. They make some of the world’s most beautiful music.
• Zion Canyon. This appropriately named swirl or red and black rock in Southern Utah is about as close as Earth gets to Heaven (outside the Temple, anyway).
• My bike. It’s a gaudy red and blue with shocks on both the front and back. I can cruise over rocky terrain and still not have my teeth knock together.
• My family. It would take a whole post to explain the many reasons why. In short, however, they’re some of my closest confidants and best friends.
• Playing basketball and getting dog-tired. I can’t think of anything I love more than running back and forth, back and forth, battling for the post, and scampering after rebounds for so long I can hardly untie my shoe-laces.
• Rock-climbing. There is something about the repeated fluidity of gliding (ok, I don’t really glide, but some really good rock-climbers do) from hold to hold, until the route in burned into my synapses and memory, that makes me happy.

Published in: on August 3, 2006 at 11:16 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://tylerpaul.wordpress.com/2006/08/03/life-is-made-of-the-things-we-love/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I really enjoyed reading your writing. I’m very impressed at the hard work you’ve put into your writing and into your website. I especially enjoyed reading about some of your favorites. It made me smile quite a few times. I would also have to agree with quite a few of your favorites. 🙂

    You have a great writing style. You’re very talented. Keep it up, you crazy/busy med school student, you!

    Have a wonderful day and good luck with med school (I’m assuming that you have returned to Philadelphia for school).

    Oh, and if you ever bump into M. Night Shyamalan in Philadelphia, try to influence him to make more movies like The Sixth Sense, Unbreakable and Signs and fewer like Lady in the Water (even though I enjoyed that movie. But not many others did).

    I think it’s great that you love words and writing so much that you have put your thoughts, words and skills on a website. It shows a great love for the written word and for personal expression.

    Good luck at school!

    Sarah Mackay

  2. Great list! I like to write such lists myself about the things that I like. By the way, did I ever tell you that I served in the Pennsylvania Harrisburg Mission? In a couple of months or so, the foliage around Tunkhannock, PA(my third area) will be so amazing. I remember shutting my eyes and seeing trees! In about June, there is a national park near Clearfield, PA(second area) that has Mountain Laurel as far as the eye can see. If you get a chance, you should check it out.


Leave a Reply

