North

Toward what star or pole does my nature incline?

Is there within, or without, or flung beyond the horizon

some invisible Presence toward which I wander–unled, unheeding, unknown?

What magnetism sways my needle, what force persuades my feet this way or that, what knowledge without articulation guides my soul?

Some constant, surely, some light darkness does not dim..

Yet oft my needle spins, possesed by some lesser power, some subtle mini-magnet convincing South North, just for a day.

Following, I set off, heading toward a destiny unsought and dark, pale and lifeless.

If South is North my endurance is worthless, I trek toward nothing.

Yet South is never North, me compass notwithstanding.

I cannot change the ageless planes which orient forces forever.

Beneath more visible swayers are powers too deep for feeble understanding.

One such dwells deeply within the fabric woven through us all and therein my compass find knowledge and this sure:

It is the bright and morning star.

Published in: on July 9, 2007 at 1:06 am  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://tylerpaul.wordpress.com/2007/07/09/north/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Very nice! I do believe there is a purpose in where we are guided at times in life. Sometimes the way to go is as bright as a morning star and other times the way is not so lit.

  2. This sounds a bit like questions of determinism and free will. Is that what I am seeing here?

  3. Tyler,
    Thank you for the beautiful poem.

    Eric,
    I can see how you can read questions of determinism and free will. However, I see only reference to the light of Christ that we are each born with. We may, resist this light at time, setting our compass away. However, South is not North as the poem says and he stays constant and his light is within us all.

  4. Barbara–

    It is certainly true that sometimes our way lies so clearly before us that it is almost as if we are following a visible star–isn’t such clarity wonderful?

    Eric–

    There is something of free will in this piece. I believe we are free; I wonder, though, what it is exactly that orients our moral compasses. What is it that tells us what is right and wrong. I actually began to think on this idea when I was writing a post a while back where I talked about members who felt they were morally obligated to do something Church leaders counsel against–what is it that orients these people’s (or our) compasses differently? I agree with John that, ultimately, there is an eternal pole–an ultimate north and south–that will turn out to be the true direction. Until we perfectly understand that, however, each of us tries his best to follow where his compass leads. The trick, though, is assuring that our compasses are correctly attuned to the true North.

  5. I think I understand better. I was following some other posts where free will and determinism were being discussed which biased my interpretation.

    Liahona like.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

